Skip to navigation Skip to main content
All partners


EU Logo in colors

The European Commission is the European Union (EU)’s executive arm. Its role is to promote the general interest of the EU by proposing and enforcing legislation as well as by implementing policies and the EU budget.

Political leadership is provided by a team of 28 Commissioners (one from each EU country) and the day-to-day running of Commission business is performed by departments known as Directorates-General (DGs), each responsible for a specific policy area.

Energy Observer, thanks to cross-sectional nature, interacts with DGs Energy, Environment, Climate Action, Mobility & Transport and Research & Innovation.